Friday, September 23, 2011

The 2015 Rugby World Cup Will Be The Eighth Rugby World Cup

2015 Rugby World Cup Is Coming Soon-

A record ten unions indicated interest in hosting the 2015 and/or the 2019 events. The 2015 tournament received interest from Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales. Russia withdrew in February 2009 in order to concentrate on bidding for the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens, Australia and Ireland withdrew in spring 2009 due to financial reasons, while Scotland also withdrew in April 2009 after they were unable to secure co-hosting partners for the tournament. 

2015 Rugby World Cup
Tournament details
Host nation  England
Dates 4 September – 17 October
The 2015 Rugby World Cup will be the eighth Rugby World Cup, the quadrennial rugby union world championship. The tournament will be hosted by England from 4 September to 17 October 2015. In addition, Cardiff's 74,500-seater Millennium Stadium in Wales will also be used. England was chosen to host the competition in July 2009, beating out rival bids from Italy, Japan and South Africa.

 The 2015 tournament will run from 4 September to 17 October, when the final will be played at Twickenham. Other matches will be staged in 10 cities and 12 grounds across the country including Wembley, Old Trafford, the Emirates Stadium, Anfield and the Millennium Stadium, which is the only venue being used outside England.

Four countries submitted formal bids to host the tournament, with England being recommended by the competition's organisers to the International Rugby Board (IRB). RWCL Chairman Bernard Lapasset revealed the result on 28 July 2009 at IRB headquarters in the Irish capital Dublin.

England will host the 2015 Rugby World Cup, the International Rugby Board has announced.
The 26-man IRB council, meeting in Dublin today, voted to ratify a recommendation from the World Cup board that confirmed England as 2015 hosts, with Japan to stage the tournament in 2019.

The 2015 Rugby World Cup in England will run from the opening match on 4 September to the final at Twickenham on 17 October. The RFU expects to sell 2.8million tickets for the tournament, with matches to be played in 10 cities across England and Wales.

No comments:

Post a Comment