Wednesday, October 6, 2010

FIBA women's Basketball world championship-2010

Czechs Host 2010 FIBA Women's Basketball World Championship

Australian basketball women's team players celebrate after defeating Russia to win the FIBA World Championship for 2006. (Antonio Scorza/AFP/Getty Images)
BRNO, Czech Republic—The Women's Basketball World Championship is held only once every four years. The tournament runs from Sept. 23 to Oct. 3. in the heart of Europe in the Czech Republic.

The best national teams of the world will play preliminary rounds and one-eighth final parts in Brno and the playoff will be played in the famous Czech spa town of Carlsbad.

Shortcut Through History-

The first tournament was held in Chile in 1953, and the most recent one was held four years ago in Brazil. This year's championship is the 16th and is coming back to Czech Republic after a 43-year absence; back then, it was held in Prague, Czechoslovakia's capital city.

The U.S. team is the most successful with seven championship titles till now. Russia, including medals won as part of the Soviet Union, is in second place with six gold medals. While these two countries are dominating, Australia won the last event in 2006. Brazil was the only other country to win (1994).

Tournament Format-

The 16 teams participating are split into four preliminary groups. After playing a round robin in the preliminary group, the three best teams from each group are going to one-eighth final (three best teams from Group A group and three best teams from B group will ascend to the one-eighth final Group E while the three best teams from Group C group and the three best teams from Group D will ascend to the one-eighth final Group F.

Within the one-eighth final Groups E and F, each team will play three games against teams from paired preliminary group. (For example, a team, which proceeded from Group A to Group E will play against all three teams in Group E that came from Group B). The six best teams from one-eighth final groups will proceed to the playoffs (knock out rounds).


The knock out matches will follow the typical single elimination format beginning with the quarterfinal stage, leading to semifinals, and the final.


Only two teams directly qualify for the championship—the host nation Czech Republic and defending champion Australia. The remaining 14 teams have guaranteed their participation through continental championship qualifications. Representing Africa are Mali and Senegal; Japan, China, and Korea represent Asia; the United States, Canada, Brazil, and Argentina from the Americas zone; France, Spain, Greece, and Belarus from Europe.

Group A

Canada – FIBA rank: 12; 2 bronze medals (1979, 1986)
Belarus – FIBA rank: 16; first participation in World Cup
China – FIBA rank 7; silver in 1994, winner of Asia Championship 2009
Australia – FIBA rank 3; gold in 2006

Group B

Senegal – FIBA rank 22; winner of Africa Championship 2009
Greece – FIBA rank 18; first participation in World Cup
U.S. – FIBA rank 1; seven-time champion
France – FIBA rank 8; 1 bronze medal (1953)

Group C

Mali – FIBA rank 23; first participation in World Cup
Korea – FIBA rank 9; 2 silver medals (1967, 1979)
Brazil – FIBA rank 4; gold in1994, bronze in 1971
Spain – FIBA rank 5;

Group D

Japan – FIBA rank 14; silver medal (1975)
Czech Republic – FIBA rank 6; 6 medals as Czechoslovakia
Argentina – FIBA rank 10; silver in America Championship 2009
Russia – FIBA rank 2; 11 medals (including as USSR)
The FIBA World Championship is an international basketball competition contested by the men's national teams of the members of the International Basketball ...
FIBA is the World Governing Body for Basketball. FIBA organizes international basketball events such as the FIBA World Championships and the Olympic ...
FIBA – FIBA World Championship All Star Five announced .... Championnat du monde de basket l Campeonato del mundo de baloncesto l ...
The 2010 FIBA World Championship, hosted by Turkey, was the international basketball competition contested by the men's national teams.
Welcome to the Facebook Community Page about Basketball World Championship, a collection of shared knowledge concerning Basketball World Championship.

3 Aug 2010 ... On behalf of everyone everywhere I would like to thank the governing body of international basketball. During this summer's World Cup ..

FIBAtv - 2010 FIBA World Championship nail-biters-
ISTANBUL (FIBA World Championship) – As the FIBA World Championship approaches tonight's climax, we have decided to look back at some of the classic games and the key game changing moments of the 2010 edition.   The preliminary round, held in Ankara, Izmir, Kayseri and ...their opinion....
ISTANBUL (2010 FIBA World Championship) – The United States of America beat Turkey 81-64 to win the 2010 FIBA World Championship.   The result ended a 16-year wait for the USA, who had not won this ...
ISTANBUL (2010 FIBA World Championship) – Stars from Argentina, Lithuania, Serbia, Turkey and the USA have been recognised for their outstanding tournaments with the All Star Five for the 2010 FIBA ...
ISTANBUL (2010 FIBA World Championship) - When Turkey was awarded the 2010 FIBA World Championship several years ago, every fan from Istanbul to Ankara to Kayseri to Istanbul and everywhere else in ...

By Juraj Skovajsa-
Epoch Times Staff
Created: Sep 22, 2010 Last Updated: Sep 22, 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment